eco chair 4

by Elīna Bušmane / Elina Busmane

When I got the natural material, I was thinking – how to use it, to create conditions for sitting. Where reed is used? I remembered reed roofs in traditional architecture. Of course, my very favorite place, Open Air museum in Riga came into my mind…

roof

I found out that for creating roofs,  reed at first is bidden in smaller bunches, which are connected to the structure of the roof. I was trying to apply this principle to the seat.

sketch_03

This was the sketch of the principle.

straw_05

And these were the first experiments with the material.

After the meeting with teachers I understood, that I am very far from any kind of chair or seat. Teachers suggested me to avoid these simple geometrical shapes I wanted to create from the reed. And the ribbon…is it natural?

Ok. Probably I have to try smth different, I thought.

